Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides

So I went and saw the fourth movie in the Pirates of the Caribbean series, On Stanger Tides
Yes, I saw it a day before it released, all thanks to my Chachu and Swarovski :)

Anyway, before I begin, I have a confession to make. I have not seen even one of the previous Pirates movie in its entirety

-Why? You may hysterically demand.
-Well, because they bore me.
There, I’ve said it.

However, I leapt shamelessly at the opportunity to watch this movie because I figured maybe I needed a movie theatre and popcorn to sustain my attention.

So PoC4 was my first 3D movie in a long, long time, so I was understandably awed and gasping and ducking at the right moments etc … and consequently super excited :D

The movie is … fun. It makes for a great watch with the pirates, the ships, the sea, mermaids etc, but its not exactly something that will remain with me for a long time, you know?

There’s a lot of sparring, killing, jumping off ships and the usual Pirate deal which is also fun, but becomes a little tiring to watch after a point. Of course, its quite possible that the fight scenes are awesome and breath-taking-ly intricate- I just couldn’t care less.

Penelope Cruz is perhaps one reason why the film will make more money than it ought to, but to be honest, she’s not all that great. That Sanish accent, which is supposed to be attractive and sexy just seems jaded and gimmicky to me. Its almost like she tries so hard to sound like the dusky, Latino beauty that she is, that somewhere along the way it becomes put on. Oh and, there’s also the little part when she screams at Sparrow because he saves her life- ?!
That aside, she’s quite a sight in her Pirate garb and nice hair. Another reason I’m not complaning is because Penelope Cruz > Keira Knightley anyday.

There’s also Geoffrey Rush. The entire hall ooh-ed when he appeared, so Im guessing he was part of one the older movies. He and Sparrow were certainly quite pally. He’s pretty good, and very loyal to the Black Pearl, if I’m not wrong?

But, I’ve saved the best for last.
Captain Jack Sparrow.
Need I obsess about his awesomeness any more that everyone already knows? He is just SO funny and genuine and perfect! Yes, there are times when I glared at him disapprovingly, judging him for his fickle and self-centered nature, but whose heart wouldn’t melt when he smiles that … disarming smile?

Overall, an evening well spent, a movie well-enjoyed, if not remembered.

Watch it ‘cuz its the summer, and it’s not like you have anything to do anyway.
Oh yes, I know.

