A Surprise Trip

Excerpts from my Travel Diary:

27 March 2011

I am here in my father’s father’s village. An erstwhile tiny village (atleast in my memory), Jathlana is your typical agricultural village in Haryana. I’ve been here twice before, but now my memories of buffaloes and gobhar have been replaced by memories of prosperity…and gobhar.

The jats have managed to make huge sums of money thanks to the extended awesomeness of the Green Revolution and those stereotypical houses have been replaced by huge bungalows (built not necessarily in bad taste) worth lakhs (or so I hear).

Its interesting, how as I write, a Waheguru song (indicating a strong Sikh presence) plays on the microphone, while only a few hours ago, I had heard the Mullah read the namaaz. That’s what I like about this village. It is most peculiarly “forward” so to say. Peculiar in the sense that it lacks the abject poverty, discrimination and all that backwardness I associate with Haryana. I’m not getting the feel of an Indian village, you know.

Now, the purpose of our (Mother, sister and myself) visit is to take a look-see at the school started by my dad’s buaji some 15 years ago. It is a spectacular initiative that has enabled some of its pass-outs to pursue BBA’s, MBA’s and BComs! However, in the past some time, the whole school has been laid to waste owing to buaji’s old age.

So my parents and my dad’s brother’s family have decided to revive it. However, its not as easy as it seems.
In this one trip, we have encountered the typical slew of village thugs who thunder into rooms and glare threateningly (my mom ripped them apart- HILARIOUS).
But yes, we are committed to our purpose, and fulfill it we shall :D

Another heartening thing about this place (apart from the sugarcanes that just came in) is the way people talk. We stopped several times to ask for directions and were met with startling enthusiasm to help. One guy beamed at us wideky when we thanked him for his help!! Oh and, there have been lots of the “mensun nots” :P
A large number of people dropped by our house to see the Dilliwallahs, including one lady who spoke appreciable English and made a marvelous recovery when she was told my mom has TWO daughters ;)

Some pictures:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

